Officially known as the Kingdom of Netherlands, Nederland (Dutch) is located in western Europe and includes three Caribbean islands in its constituency. Bordered by Germany, Belgium and the North Sea, the Netherlands also shares maritime borders with Germany, Belgium and the U.K.

Amsterdam is the capital of the Netherlands, with Rotterdam and the Hague representing its other primary cities. Respected for being the founding member of NATO, the European Union, the G-10 and the World Trade Organization, the Netherlands is also home to five international courts that are currently established in the Hague.

Although Dutch is the official language in the Netherlands, nearly 90 percent of its citizens speak English, 70 percent speak German and 30 percent speak French.

Universities in Netherlands